Tripura is a state in Northeast India. The third-smallest state in the country, it is bordered by Bangladesh to the north, south, and west, and the Indian states of Assam and Mizoram to the east. Five mountain ranges Boromura, Atharamura, Longtharai, Shakhan and Jampui Hills run north to south, with intervening valleys; Agartala, the capital, is located on a plain to the west. Forests cover more than half of the area, in which bamboo and cane tracts are common. Most residents are involved in agriculture and allied activities, although the service sector is the largest contributor to the state's gross domestic product.


An ancient name of Tripura is Kirat Desh, probably referring to the Kirata Kingdoms or the more generic term Kirata. The region was under the rule of the Twipra Kingdom for centuries, although when this dates from is not documented. There were several Muslim invasions of the region from the 13th century onward, which culminated in Mughal dominance of the plains of the kingdom in 1733, although their rule never extended to the hill regions. The Mughals had influence over the appointment of the Tripuri kings. Tripura became a princely state during British rule in India. The kings had an estate in British India, known as Tippera district or Chakla Roshnabad, in addition to the independent area known as Hill Tippera, the present day state. Udaipur, in the south of Tripura, was the capital of the kingdom, until the king Krishna Manikya moved the capital to Old Agartala in the 18th century. It was moved to the new city of Agartala in the 19th century. Following the independence of India in 1947, Tippera district the estate in the plains of British India became a part of East Pakistan and Hill Tippera remained under a regency council until 1949. The Maharani Regent of Tripura signed the Tripura Merger Agreement on 9 September 1949, as a result of which Tripura became a Part C state of India. Some parts of the state were shelled by the Pakistan Army during the Indo Pakistani War of 1971. Following the war, the Indian government reorganised the North East region to ensure effective control of the international borders, three new states came into existence on 21 January Meghalaya, Manipur, and Tripura. Hindu Bengalis migrated to Tripura after 1949 to escape religious persecution in Muslim majority East Pakistan. Ethnic strife between the Tripuri tribe and the predominantly immigrant Bengali community led to scattered violence, and an insurgency spanning decades. Tripura remains peaceful, as of 2016.

Language And Culture

Language: Bengali is the most widely spoken language. Kokborok is a prominent language among the Tripura tribes. Several other languages such as Mog, Odia, Bishnupriya Manipuri, Manipuri, Halam, Kuki, Garo and Chakma. Culture: The state of Tripura is dominated by the Bengalis and so the prevalent culture is also Bengali. The people of Tripura renoted for a rich cultural heritage with a blend of music, fine arts, performing arts, and handicrafts. The culture as a whole blend of various ethno linguistic groups.

State symbols

State Animal: Phayre's leaf monkey (Trachypithecus phayrei) State Bird: Green imperial pigeon (Ducula aenea) State Flower: Indian rose chestnut (Mesua ferrea) State Tree: Agarwood

Top Attractions

1.Ujjayanta Palace 2.Tripura Government Museum 3.Tripura Sundari Temple 4.Neemahal 5.Rudrasagar Lake

Top Cities

1.Agartala 2.Amarpur 3.Melaghar 4.Kailashahar 5.Belonia

How to Reach

By Air: The Agartala airport in Tripura is the nearest airport. This airport is well connected to Guwahati and Kolkata by direct flights. By Rail: The nearest railway station is Kumarghat. This station is well connected to the railheads of Delhi, Kolkata, Indore, Chennai and Bangalore. By Road: Agartala is connected by road with Guwahati via Shillong by National Highway No.44. Good luxury coaches, both of private travel agencies and public sector transport corporations ply on this road. There is regular International Bus service from Dhaka, Bangladesh to Agartala.